Finally read a Kelley Armstrong book! Sea of Shadows…

November 12, 2015 Reviews 18

Finally read a Kelley Armstrong book! Sea of Shadows…Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong
Narrator: Jennifer Ikeda
Series: Age of Legends #1
Published by HarperCollins, Harper Audio on April 8th 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Length: 12 hours 31 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times bestselling author, takes an exciting new direction with this big, breathtaking blend of fantasy, romance, horror, and pulse-pounding action, perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones.
Twin sisters Moria and Ashyn were marked at birth to become the Keeper and the Seeker of Edgewood, beginning with their sixteenth birthday. Trained in fighting and in the secret rites of the spirits, they lead an annual trip into the Forest of the Dead. There, the veil between the living world and the beyond is thinnest, and the girls pay respect to the spirits who have passed.
But this year, their trip goes dreadfully wrong.
With all the heart-stopping romance and action that have made her a #1 New York Times bestselling author, and set in an unforgettably rich and dangerous world, this first epic book in the Age of Legends trilogy will appeal to Kelley Armstrong's legions of fans around the world and win her many new ones.

Well, I’ve finally read a Kelley Armstrong book! And I really enjoyed it, for the most part. The world building did take a while to connect with me, so the first 15% of Sea of Shadows was slow going. But, once I got into it, I really connected with the characters, the world, and the story.

I think my favorite part, though, was the animal companions. I’m a sucker for books with animal companions, and Kelley Armstrong wrote in the hound – Tova – and wild cat – Daigo really well. They have personalities, are loyal, and there’s a really good explanation for their roles and intelligence.

Once I got into it, the plot was really great. It just took a bit too long to be evident – the world building and the confusion of the main characters left me in the dark as to where Sea Of Shadows was going longer than I’d traditionally like. Based on how it ended, though, the next book will take off running and we won’t have that problem again.

The narration was solid too. Performed by Jennifer Ikeda, the different male and female characters had a variety of believable voices and personality. I particularly liked the way she was able to make the twins – Moria and Ashyn – sound similar and yet infused with their very different personalities.

I don’t think I would have grabbed Sea of Shadows on my own, since its a little different than my go-to YA Fantasy, but now that I’ve started it, I’m glad and look forward to continuing.

3.5 stars pretty good

Berls finally read Armstrong and she's semi-sold. 3.5/5 stars for Sea of Shadows! Click To Tweet Follow on Bloglovin

three-half-stars

About Kelley Armstrong

Kelley Armstrong

Kelley Armstrong has been telling stories since before she could write. Her earliest written efforts were disastrous. If asked for a story about girls and dolls, hers would invariably feature undead girls and evil dolls, much to her teachers’ dismay. All efforts to make her produce “normal” stories failed.

Today, she continues to spin tales of ghosts and demons and werewolves, while safely locked away in her basement writing dungeon. She’s the author of the NYT-bestselling “Women of the Otherworld” paranormal suspense series and “Darkest Powers” young adult urban fantasy trilogy, as well as the Nadia Stafford crime series. Armstrong lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, kids and far too many pets.

Berls

Photo of Berls
About Berls
Berls has been a book lover her whole life. She reads pretty much every genre and is currently working hard at making her childhood dream of becoming an author come true. She loves sharing her thoughts about books, blogging, and just random fun stuff. She's a challenge and read-a-thon junkie, so it's no wonder that she loves co-hosting the COYER reading challenge. Leave a comment, Berls is always happy to chat!

18 Responses to “Finally read a Kelley Armstrong book! Sea of Shadows…”

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      Yeah, there’s a lot of slow travel bits for sure. Maybe we can do a was it good for you when book 2 comes out?

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      Lol that seems to be consensus. Clearly I didn’t chose too wisely lol. Those animals sucked me in 🙂 But overall I do like her and plan to try out the more popular series.

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      From what I’m hearing, I chose the wrong one to start with. So I’d say don’t follow my example lol 🙂

  1. Lexxie

    I have only read one of her books, so it’s not as if you’re really alone in not being well-versed when it comes to Armstrong, Berls! I really like the fact that there are animal companions here, that just makes me want to read it sooner! And it’s very good to know in advance that the beginning is fairly slow due to the world building!
    Have a terrific Thursday 🙂
    Lexxie recently posted…Thirsty Thursday and Hungry Hearts #41 – Rock Chick Redemption (encore)My Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      I thought everyone had read her Orherworld books, it always seems like that when I get into conversations! But I’m feeling a bit less alone now 🙂 I did love the animal companions – it was a big selling point for me!

  2. Bookworm Brandee

    I’ve read Armstrong’s Otherworld series (not caught up) and one of her YA series set in the same world. I really love her writing, but I’ve not read this one. I’m sorry you had a little trouble with worldbuilding and characters. I want to say that I read of someone else having similar issues. At least you were able to be drawn in eventually and enjoy the story. I can’t wait to see what you think of book #2.
    Have a great day, Berls! {{hugs}}
    Bookworm Brandee recently posted…#TravelingtoTerminus Audio Review ~ Play ~ Kylie ScottMy Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      Other world is a series I’ve been planning to get to for some time, but just haven’t managed to. I’ll be curious to see how things unfold now that the world is established.

      Hope you’re having a great Sunday!

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      I have been meaning to respond the Orherworld series for a long time. I know – I need to figure out how to read faster too!

  3. Melanie Simmons
    Twitter:

    I’m a HUGE Kelley Armstrong fan. I’m glad you like the book. I like this series, though I don’t think it is her best work. I do agree that this book is slow to build, but is very interesting once in gets going. I love the two companion animals too. I’m glad to hear that the narration is good. I read the book and didn’t listen. Maybe I’ll listen when the next book in the series comes out.
    Melanie Simmons recently posted…Dark Heart of Magic Audiobook by Jennifer Estep (REVIEW)My Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      I’ve been told I shouldn’t judge her based on this one, so I will plan on going back to the Orherworld series. But I enjoyed it enough that I’ll be continuing on audio when the next book is released.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This blog uses premium CommentLuv which allows you to put your keywords with your name if you have had 0 approved comments. Use your real name and then @ your keywords (maximum of 9)