My TBR List | June 2015 Voting

June 6, 2015 My TBR List 29

MyTBRList

My TBR List is a meme hosted by Michelle @ Because Reading where we get some help picking out what to read next. We sit for hours looking through our TBR lists wondering when we will ever get to that one book we were dying to read when we added it 3 months ago or maybe even a year. So each month we pick 3 books from our TBRs and let everyone else vote on which one to read. We announce the book the second week and by the end of the month, we review it!

It’s so nice to know that I’m not going into this month’s TBR list a month behind! And for those of you that were sad that Stray didn’t win last month, I thought you might be happy to know that after I finished Allegiant I started Stray and I’m about halfway done with it already (and enjoying it!).

June 2015 Voting

So last month I picked three books for Michelle to have y’all vote on and this month she’s returning the favor. She picked out three books that she’s read and enjoyed and that I have on my TBR. These will all be physical reads, since I don’t have audiobooks for them. I have no idea which one I want to win, so it will be fun to see what y’all pick!

My Three Choices

  1. Pleasure UnboundPleasure Unbound by Larissa Ione

    In a place where ecstasy can cost you your life . . .

    She’s a demon-slayer who hungers for sensual pleasure-but fears it will always be denied her. Until Tayla Mancuso lands in a hospital run by demons in disguise, and the head doctor, Eidolon, makes her body burn with unslakable desire. But to prove her ultimate loyalty to her peers, she must betray the surgeon who saved her life.

    Two lovers will dare to risk all.

    Eidolon cannot resist this fiery, dangerous woman who fills him with both rage and passion. Not only is she his avowed enemy, but she could very well be the hunter who has been preying upon his people. Torn between his need for the truth and his quest to find his perfect mate before a horrific transformation claims him forever, Eidolon will dare the unthinkable-and let Tayla possess him, body and soul . . .

    I actually already checked this one out from OverDrive, so I can start it immediately if it wins.

  2. The Stepsisters SchemeThe Stepsisters Scheme by Jim C. Hines

    What would happen if an author went back to the darker themes of the original fairy tales for his plots, and then crossed the Disney princesses with “Charlie’s Angels?” Hines delivers a new take on what happened to Cinderella and her prince after the wedding. Original.

    ==

    You know how all those old fairy tales take you through lots of scary adventures till you finally reach that inevitable line: “And they lived happily ever after…” Guess what? It’s not true. Life in never-never land isn’t all sweetness and light. Cinderella – whose real name is Danielle Whiteshore (nee Danielle de Glas) – does marry Prince Armand. And (if you can ignore the pigeon incident) their wedding is a dream-come-true.

    But not long after the “happily ever after,” Danielle is attacked by her stepsister Charlotte, who suddenly has all sorts of magic to call upon. And though Talia – otherwise known as Sleeping Beauty – comes to the rescue (she’s a martial arts master, and all those fairy blessings make her almost unbeatable), Charlotte gets away.

    That’s when Danielle discovers a number of disturbing facts: Armand has been kidnapped and taken to the realm of the Fairies; Danielle is pregnant with his child; and the Queen has her very own Secret Service that consists of Talia and Snow (White, of course). Snow is an expert at mirror magic and heavy-duty flirting.

    Can three princesses track down Armand and extract both the prince and themselves from the clutches of some of fantasyland’s most nefarious villains?

    I was able to request a paperback copy of this one from the library and it should be available next week – so I’m ready if it wins!

  3. The Murder ComplexThe Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

    An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

    Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

    The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

    I got a signed copy of this one at RT15!

Now Vote!

So Michelle gave me quite the variety to pick from and I’m prepared with a copy of all three books, so whichever one wins I’m ready! I couldn’t pick if I had to, so good luck!

Thanks for playing along! Now head over to Because Reading for the linky! Even if you’re not joining in, you can vote 🙂

Follow on Bloglovin

Berls

Photo of Berls
About Berls
Berls has been a book lover her whole life. She reads pretty much every genre and is currently working hard at making her childhood dream of becoming an author come true. She loves sharing her thoughts about books, blogging, and just random fun stuff. She's a challenge and read-a-thon junkie, so it's no wonder that she loves co-hosting the COYER reading challenge. Leave a comment, Berls is always happy to chat!

29 Responses to “My TBR List | June 2015 Voting”

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      I guess I won’t feel too bad that my libraries didn’t have an audio copy then! Michelle’s been telling me about this series for about 2 years now, so I really need to read it!

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      I’ve heard really good things about it and I own a signed copy, so I’m excited to read it. It’s really close between it and Stepsister Scheme, so we’ll see!

  1. Lola
    Twitter:

    Nice variety of picks this month! I voted for The Murder Complex as I’ve seen some reviews around and I am curious what you think of it! The stephsisters scheme sounds fun as well even though I am not a big fan of fairytale retellings.
    Lola recently posted…Sunday Post #129My Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      Michelle did good this month,didn’t she?! I’m really curious about that one too – especially because I now own it! The Stepsister Scheme is probably tied for first in my mind and mainly because I freaking love that cover LOL.

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      I know! Michelle made it tough on y’all this month! I think that cover is the most fun, so it’s probably the one I’d vote for if I were voting – since I wouldn’t be able to decide based on synopsis LOL

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      Michelle’s been talking about Larissa Ione since we started talking – so I think it’s about time I picked up one of her books. And everyone who’s read this one that’s commented seems to have liked it, so that’s a plus!

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      It does look like a fun one. I had forgotten putting it on my TBR, but Michelle pulled it from my Dying-to-read list, so clearly after reading reviews I really wanted to read it LOL!

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      I think, for once, your pick is going to lose 🙁 But I’m thinking someone’s vote didn’t go through because yours is the third comment saying Murder Complex and it only has two votes so far… weird. But I really want to read it, so soon reagardless!

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      I’ve had this one on my TBR for a long time and now that I own a copy I’m really excited to read it. Thanks for voting 🙂

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      LOL I know exactly what you mean! Michelle’s been telling me I need to read a Larissa Ione book for two years now, so I think it’s about time 🙂

  2. Stormi
    Twitter:

    Oh well you know I am going to have to go with The Murder Complex because I know Michelle LOVES it and I found it to be very interesting and I think you would like it. And I am curious to know what you think about it. 🙂
    Stormi recently posted…My TBR List: June ~Let’s Vote!My Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      I’ve wanted to read it for quie a while because of how much Michelle liked it. But after seeing that you liked it, I’m doubly curious. Especially seeing that you have a love-hate relationship with YA Dystopia LOL

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This blog uses premium CommentLuv which allows you to put your keywords with your name if you have had 0 approved comments. Use your real name and then @ your keywords (maximum of 9)