Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis | Book Review

October 30, 2014 Reviews 19

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis | Book ReviewStitching Snow by R.C. Lewis
Series: Stand Alone
Published by Disney-Hyperion on October 14, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 338
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars

Princess Snow is missing.

Her home planet is filled with violence and corruption at the hands of King Matthias and his wife as they attempt to punish her captors. The king will stop at nothing to get his beloved daughter back—but that’s assuming she wants to return at all.

Essie has grown used to being cold. Temperatures on the planet Thanda are always sub-zero, and she fills her days with coding and repairs for the seven loyal drones that run the local mines.

When a mysterious young man named Dane crash-lands near her home, Essie agrees to help the pilot repair his ship. But soon she realizes that Dane’s arrival was far from accidental, and she’s pulled into the heart of a war she’s risked everything to avoid. With the galaxy’s future—and her own—in jeopardy, Essie must choose who to trust in a fiery fight for survival.

I decided to request Stitching Snow from NetGalley when I heard it was even better than The Lunar Chronicles. This I HAD to see. My verdict? I wouldn’t say it’s better, but Stitching Snow is in a similar league.

When I started Stitching Snow, I was a bit worried. It may have been because I had it setup in my mind as a comparison to The Lunar Chronicles, but it seemed a bit TOO familiar. The main character, Essie, is basically a mechanic. She has built and constantly repairs all these drones that work in the mines. These drones have personalities and are all a little “off”. There’s Cusser, who (as his name implies) has a gift for foul language. There’s my favorite, Dimwit, who is like a faithful puppy. He follows Essie around and can’t be trusted to get much right – she never sends him into the mines. But he’s great and I dare you not to love him. Does all that sound a little like Cinder to you too?

Well, I’m really glad I didn’t put too much stock in those similarities because that’s pretty much where they ended. Stitching Snow was actually very different and had quite a few surprises in store. So don’t let the beginning shut you down!

I really liked the world for Stitching Snow. There’s a brief hint that we’re in the future – so far into the future that earth is part of a game (kinda like Risk) and Essie doesn’t even recognize the map as a real place. There are several planets belonging to this system, ruled by a King and Queen. There’s a war going on between the royal planet and the exiles – who happen to have some “magical” abilities.

The story line was lots of fun – Stitching Snow was action packed and there were quite a few unexpected twists and turns. I really liked Essie – I’m always a fan of a female character who’s in a traditionally male role, and that’s Essie. She’s a self-taught mechanic or engineer or whatchamacallit – she calls what she does stitching – and she earns extra cash by cage fighting with the miners. Yep, the girl is both smart and tough! She does have her secrets and insecurities though, and I enjoyed unweaving those twists.

There is a romance element to Stitching Snow – after all Snow White needs her Prince, right? I liked Dane, a boy who crash lands on Thanda and Essie helps to repair his shuttle. I thought R.C. Lewis did a pretty good job making him complex and making him more than just the dashing hero. Because Essie is the hero of her story, Dane’s just along for the ride – which I loved. Their romance itself was just ok. It definitely took a backseat to the rest of the story for me and while it worked, I didn’t particularly care too much about them ending up together. I just cared if they both survived.

And that tells you something about Stitching Snow–> I cared if they SURVIVED. This is more of a sci-fi action story than a romance – which may be a disappointment for those who like their fairytales sweet and romantic. I most definitely wouldn’t call Stitching Snow sweet – I was surprised by some of the brutality and even more so by a sub-theme of sexual abuse – but it was handled well and helped transform the sweet romantic fairytale into something a bit more serious and way more action-packed. I definitely recommend it for fans of Sci-fi & Fantasy, regardless of how you feel about Snow White.

4 stars Pretty Great

Follow on Bloglovin
four-stars

About R.C. Lewis

When I’m not writing novels, I’m teaching math. Or when I’m not teaching math, I’m writing novels. It gets a little confusing in here sometimes.

Berls

Photo of Berls
About Berls
Berls has been a book lover her whole life. She reads pretty much every genre and is currently working hard at making her childhood dream of becoming an author come true. She loves sharing her thoughts about books, blogging, and just random fun stuff. She's a challenge and read-a-thon junkie, so it's no wonder that she loves co-hosting the COYER reading challenge. Leave a comment, Berls is always happy to chat!

19 Responses to “Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis | Book Review”

  1. Anya

    This is really great to know since I was quite worried that it would be way too similar to Cress for my happiness and had become convinced I’d skip it. I shall rethink that plan now 😀
    Anya recently posted…TBR Book Tag Time!My Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who was having that worry. I actually grabbed this one and then kept putting off reading it because I was worried it would be too similar and bother me. I’m glad I got over that, since it ended up being really different. I think it was a mistake to market them as similar though, since that seems to be a common concern!
      Berls recently posted…A Month of Giving Thanks Day 6My Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      Me too! I’m glad your daughter is making you read Lunar Chronicles, it’s so good. The Lunar Chronicles are a great series for audio BTW. Rebecca Soler nails it – from accents to pacing to personalities. Just sayin’ 😉
      Berls recently posted…A Month of Giving Thanks Day 6My Profile

  2. Angie F.

    I need this book in my life! I was a bit worried about the comparisons to the Lunar Chronicles, which I love, but why would I want to read an identical book with a different name? So I’m happy to hear that it’s not too similar!

    I’m kind of sad to hear about the romance though. But I suppose if the action and other parts of the story are great, that’s okay! 😀
    Angie F. recently posted…Review: Nightshifted (Edie Spence, #1) by Cassie AlexanderMy Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      That was my fear too – I even put off reading it because I was nervous I think! But I’m glad I did read it now. and the romance being light could just be me – I was really into the action. There was romance there, but it felt understated. I suppose it could be that the connection felt off, but I’m not sure that’s it either. I think I just was really into the plots 😛
      Berls recently posted…A Month of Giving Thanks Day 5My Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      It’s funny because I got this from NetGalley and then when it came time to read it, I kept pushing it off. IDK if I just wasn’t in the mood or thought I wouldn’t like it because of how much I liked the Lunar Chronicles. I’m glad I gave it a go though! If you do read it, I’ll be curious to see what you think!
      Berls recently posted…A Month of Giving Thanks Day 5My Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      Oh Dimwit really stole my heart!I mean, he’s like the animal companion and I’m always a sucker for those 😀 As for the romance, it’s definitely there, it just wasn’t a focal point for me. I don’t know if that’s just because I was more into the action or if it truly was understated. It is YA, so romance easily plays out softer I think.
      Berls recently posted…A Month of Giving Thanks Day 5My Profile

  3. Carmel @ Rabid Reads
    Twitter:

    Everyone seems to be infatuated with The Lunar Chronicles, however I’m not a fan of cyborgs, so I think this book might be better suited for me, then again drones are kinda the same thing. No? I just don’t know… I like that it’s a Snow White re-telling, but I’m not sold on some of the other aspects. Glad you liked it!
    Carmel recently posted…Question: Do You Ever Wish There Was No Sex?My Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      Well I guess it’s a long the same lines, but the two are definitely different. In the Lunar Chronicles the cyborg is THE main character and a great deal is told from her point of view (though she rarely seems anything but human, to be fair). In this, the droids are more like pets – they have a bit of personality and make you laugh/tear up a bit/etc, but they aren’t main characters or telling the story or anything. So if you like a good animal companion in your books, I suspect the droids wouldn’t bother you 🙂
      Berls recently posted…A Month of Giving Thanks Day 5My Profile

  4. Lola
    Twitter:

    Great review! I myself am not a big fan of fairytale retellings, but I like how these retellings can be very different and add original things. I plan on reading the Lunar series eventually because I figure that if there’s a book that can change my opinion of this genre it must be that series as everyone seem to love that series.
    How fun to hear this was more a science fiction book then a romance, definitely not what I would expect from a fairytale retelling!
    Lola recently posted…Lola’s Ramblings: How do you comment on a review?My Profile

    • Berls
      Twitter:

      Right? Not what I would have expected either! Their was romance, but it took a total backseat in my opinion. I wasn’t gung ho for fairytale retellings myself, but Michelle is ADDICTED to them, so I let her lead me to them. And then Jessica over at Rabid Reads ranked Lunar Chronicles as one of her favorite YA series, so I had to give it a shot. Now I’m hooked. But I think, as with any genre, fairy tale retellings are not all created equal. This was one of the better ones 🙂
      Berls recently posted…A Month of Giving Thanks Day 5My Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This blog uses premium CommentLuv which allows you to put your keywords with your name if you have had 0 approved comments. Use your real name and then @ your keywords (maximum of 9)